McKinlay Shire's Elected Council for 2020-2024

McKinlay Shire's newly elected council made their Declaration of Office Wednesday, 15th April at the Post-election Council Meeting.

McKinlay Shire Council - 15 April 2020 Media Release

McKinlay Shire's newly elected council made their Declaration of Office Wednesday 15th April at the Post Election Council meeting held in the Boardroom at Julia Creek Council Chambers. The new council consists of newly elected Mayor Philip Curr and four councillors.

Returning for a second term is Cr. Shauna Royes and Cr. Janene Fegan who was unanimously elected as the new Deputy Mayor. New to their roles, Council welcomed Cr. John Lynch and Cr. Tim Pratt.

Whilst COVID-19 restrictions prevented family and friends from attending, congratulations were given and a light lunch was served.

Mayor Philip Curr commented “Council today resolved that Council meetings will be held on the 3rd Tuesday of each month with this months meeting scheduled for the 21th April in the Civic Centre Boardroom in Julia Creek.” ...“I would also like to thank the previous outgoing Mayor Belinda Murphy and Deputy Mayor Neil Walker for their hard work and commitment over the last eight years serving the people of this Shire.”

As the new Mayor, I am looking forward to working together with my fellow councillors over the next four years to ensure that our townships and regions maximises its economic and social opportunities to not only strengthen our local economy but to create further investment in jobs and industry in our Shire that will benefit everyone.

Our newly elected Council consists of Mayor Philip Curr, Deputy Mayor Janene Fegan, Cr. Shauna Royes and Cr. John Lynch and Cr Tim Pratt.


Word Count: 254
Contact: CEO, Edwina Marks - McKinlay Shire Council (07) 4746 7166

Published: 15th April 2020